This is the story of Ian Morgan Cron’s life, with a particular focus on his experience of Jesus, and his relationship with his father which was rocky to say the least, and which involved his job at the CIA. This book does exactly what it says on the tin.

I enjoyed Cron’s storytelling in his interesting biography (of sorts) of Saint Francis, so hoped this book would meet my high expectations – it absolutely did. I found myself laughing out loud as he told stories of himself as a young child, intrigued by his father’s jobs and past, blinking back tears as some of he told of some of the really tough times, and thoroughly encouraged by the grace of God throughout.

When you have endorsements from everyone from the Archibishop of Canterbury to Brian McLaren and Craig Groeschel you can be certain that there will be bits that are theologicallycomfortable and uncomfortable to any reader, but Cron’s experience, humility and love for God shine through, even if I found myself raising an eyebrow or two at certain occasions. Groeschel claimed that ‘Each turn of the page will draw you closer to God.’ I’m not sure I quite found that to be the case, but the book as a whole is wonderful, and the revelation of God through Cron’s life is clear.

I’d recommend this book to everyone really – the storytelling is great and compelling, the story is heart-wrenching and funny, and God’s grace is wonderfully revealed. Five stars from me!

I got this book for free from BookSneeze.com. I’m not required to give a positive review.

